ISPEAK Sponsors





Print page    Issue Table of Contents

International Student Poster Competition Results

The 2009 ISPE International Student Poster Competition was held in San Diego, CA, USA on Monday, 9 November. The winning undergraduate level competitor was Aaron D. Rella, a student at Stevens Institute of Technology, who represented the New Jersey Chapter. His poster was titled, “Evaluation of Posterior Cruciate Ligament Tensioning Device.”

The winning graduate level competitor was Matthew J. Metzger, a student at Rutgers University, who also represented the New Jersey Chapter. His poster was titled, “Optimization of Particle Breakage Operations with the Attainable Region.”

Each winning competitor is awarded a plaque and a cash award for their research. All of the competitors in the 2009 International Student Poster Competition are given the opportunity to write about their research in Pharmaceutical Engineering magazine.

Here is a list of the colleges and universities that were represented at the International Student Poster Competition:

  • Boston University (Boston Area Chapter)
  • Northeastern University (Boston Area Chapter)
  • Campbell University (Carolina-South Atlantic Chapter)
  • North Carolina Central University (Carolina-South Atlantic Chapter)
  • North Carolina State University (Carolina-South Atlantic Chapter)
  • École Polytechnique de Montréal (2 competitors) (Central Canada Chapter)
  • Université de Sherbrooke (Central Canada Chapter)
  • University of Delaware (Delaware Valley Chapter)
  • Widener University (Delaware Valley Chapter)
  • University of Michigan (Great Lakes Chapter)
  • University of Southern California (Greater Los Angeles Area Chapter)
  • New Jersey Institute of Technology (2 competitors) (New Jersey Chapter)
  • Rutgers University (2 competitors) (New Jersey Chapter)
  • Stevens Institute of Technology (2 competitors) (New Jersey Chapter)
  • Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico (Puerto Rico Chapter)
  • University of Puerto Rico – Mayagüez (Puerto Rico Chapter)
  • University of California-San Diego (San Diego Chapter)
  • San Jose State University (San Francisco/Bay Area Chapter)
  • University of California-Davis (San Francisco/Bay Area Chapter)
  • Nanyang Technological University (Singapore Affiliate)
  • University of Houston (South Central Chapter)
  • Istanbul University Faculty of Pharmacy (Turkey Affiliate)

The International Student Development Committee would like to extend very deep thanks to the international panel of volunteer judges who gave up an entire afternoon to listen to twelve or thirteen poster presentations each. The judges were:

  • Mr. Michael Denault, Principal, Denault Associates, Brookline, Massachusetts, USA
  • Dr. Wendy Haines, Formulations Manager/Research Toxicologist/Study Director, ILS, Inc., Sanford, North Carolina, USA
  • Mr. Gordon Lawrence, Senior Project Manager, AP-Networks, Den Haag, Netherlands
  • Mr. David H. Novak, Director of Global Business Development, AMEC, Franklin, Massachusetts, USA
  • Mr. James M. O'Brien, President, NAMA Industries Inc., Tenafly, New Jersey, USA
  • Mrs. Christine W. Stubbs, Senior Director Corporate Facilities, Genentech, South San Francisco, California, USA

We truly appreciate their continuing support of the Society and, in particular, of the ISPE Student Initiative.

Facebook IconISPE on Facebook Click to go to ISPE on TwitterISPE on Twitter Click to go to ISPE on LinkedInISPE on LinkedIn